Govt Consider Rugby World Cup 2023 Bid

The Government is considering launching a bid to host the 2023 Rugby World Cup, Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport Leo Varadkar has said.

It is understood that the government has been considering the bid for the past year, with a plan to host games on both sides of the border.

Mr Varadker is understood to be seeking approval for the bid from Cabinet colleagues today (Tuesday).

At an Internation Rugby Board conference, Mr Varadker is reported to have said that he thinks Ireland is "very well placed" to host the Rugby World Cup, with the initial response from TDs and government colleagues "hugely enthusiastic".


Related Irish News Stories
Click here for the latest headlines.

02 March 2015
IRFU Submit Women's Rugby World Cup Bid
The Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU) has submitted a bid to host the Women's Rugby World Cup in August 2017. The tournament, if hosted in Ireland, would involve matches taking place in both Dublin and Belfast.
22 January 2014
Ministers To Meet Northern Counterparts To Discuss Rugby World Cup Bid
The Minister for Transport, Tourism & Sport Leo Varadkar and Minister of State for Tourism and Sport Michael Ring are to met two Northern Ireland government ministers to discuss Ireland's bid to host Rugby World Cup bid in 2023.
16 November 2016
Ireland Enters 'Candidate' Stage Of Rugby World Cup 2023 Bid
Ireland's bid to host the Rugby World Cup in 2023 has been officially launched by the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Tánaiste Frances Fitzgerald and Sports Minister Shane Ross. Ireland is now entering the 'Candidate' phase of the selection process.
04 December 2014
Cross-Border Bid For RWC To Be Launched
Ireland is reportedly set to unveil its bid for the 2023 Rugby World Cup. According to reports, details will be revealed tomorrow, when IRFU officials will meet with Government representatives north and south of the border.
01 October 2008
Ireland Bids For World Cup Glory
While Jamaica's unlikely bid has now been withdrawn, eight countries are now bidding to host the 2015 Rugby World Cup, including Ireland. The nations confirming their intention to tender for the 2015 tournament were: Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Scotland, South Africa and Wales.