Cork Beaches Remain Closed While E. coli Tests Continue

Seven beaches in Co Cork remain closed to swimmers while the council await the result of tests on the water.

The beaches will remain closed until at least Wednesday.

Cork County Council has advised against swimming at the beaches due to concerns about levels of the E. coli bacteria in the water.

The council said further sampling is being carried out today at Youghal, Claycastle, Redbarn, Coolmain, Garretstown, Oysterhaven and Garryvoe beaches.

Public notices banning swimming were first posted last Friday.

Cork County Council said the closures were introduced as a precautionary measure after heavy rainfall over the last two months caused the levels of E coli at the beaches to breach EU mandatory permitted values.


Related Irish News Stories
Click here for the latest headlines.

14 May 2019
Major Infrastructure Proposal For Cork Published
The National Transport Authority has published the draft of a major infrastructure plan for Cork.
25 April 2019
Weekend Weather Warnings As Storm Hannah Brings High Winds
Met Éireann has issued status orange and yellow weather warnings for the weekend as Storm Hannah moves in. People are being urged to prepare for possible disruption and power outages from Friday afternoon.
10 April 2019
Man Arrested Over The Murder Of Mikolaj Wilk
A man has been arrested in connection with the murder of Mikolaj Wilk in County Cork last June. The suspect, aged in his 30s, has been detained at Togher Garda Station. 35-year-old Mr Wilk, who was originally from Poland, died when he was attacked by a gang at his home in Ballingcollig.
15 March 2019
Met Eireann Issues Warnings For Rain, Snow & Ice
A series of yellow weather alerts for rain, snow and ice have been issued for the incoming weekend. Rainfall warnings are in place for counties Connacht, Longford, Offaly, Westmeath, Cavan, Monaghan, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick and Tipperary. This will be valid from 9pm tonight, Friday 15 March, until 12 noon on Saturday 16 March.
12 September 2017
Yellow Weather Warning Issued In 9 Counties
Met Eireann has issued a Yellow Wind Warning for counties Dublin, Wexford, Wicklow, Galway, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick and Waterford with gale force winds expected with gusts of up to 110 kmph.